Weekend Camping Reservations




Council Award Nomination Forms*

Submitted annually, no later than January 15



Silver Beaver Award
Distinguished Service Medal

Venturing Leadership Award

William H. Spurgeon Award




*Only these updated forms will be accepted for candidate selection


 Annual Council Recognition of Adult Leaders Memo


Special Recognitions
Awards are recognition that Scouts and adults are presented, when others wish to honor them for their accomplishments. Awards, for the most part, are not earned by the recipients. Awards for individuals are proposed, approved, and presented without the recipients' request or participation. Most notable of these Special Recognitions are the Boy Scout's National Heroism Awards, James E. West Endowment, the Silver Beaver Award, District Award of Merit, Scouting Veteran pins, Venturing Leadership Award, and training awards.

National Award Portal now on the web
National BSA has recently developed an on-line portal that will provide details and forms on the various awards and recognitions available. Clear here to access the portal: Awards Central 


Council and District Recognitions
Each year council and districts recognize outstanding volunteers who go above and beyond to deliver the promise of Scouting. Recipients of council or district-specific awards are nominated by the scouting community and are decided upon by a panel of council or district volunteers. These awards are usually presented at a council or district recognition dinner. Council or District awards can include Leader or Volunteer "of the Year" Awards, Veterans Awards, and Unit Spark Plug Awards.

District Award of Merit
The District Award of Merit is a council award presented by districts. The award is available to any registered Scouter who renders service of an outstanding nature on the district level. Click here for a form.

Silver Beaver Award  - Past Recipients
The Silver Beaver Award is the highest award that a local council can present to a volunteer Scouter. The award is given to registered Scouters of exceptional character upon the recommendation of the local council and approval of the National Council, Boy Scouts of America, for noteworthy service to youth. Annually, the council president will appoint a Silver Beaver Award committee that will consider candidates and make recommendations. 

Distinguished Service Medal Award  - Past Recipients
An award unique to the Hudson Valley Council, The Distinguished Service Medal is awarded to registered volunteer Scouters by the Hudson Valley Council, Boy Scouts of America, for Service to the Council, its Districts and Units. This service need not be so outstanding as to more properly qualify the nominee for the Silver Beaver, Venturing Leadership, or Spurgeon Award, but should represent a sustained, very strong performance of service with clear and exceptional results. 

Lifesaving and Meritorious Awards
To recognize registered youth and adults who have performed an attempt to save a life or to recognize notable acts of service that need not involve attempts of rescue or risk to self, but put into practice Scouting skills and/or ideals.

Honor Medal with Crossed Palms

Awarded in exceptional cases to a youth member or adult leader who has demonstrated unusual heroism and extraordinary skill or resourcefulness in saving or attempting to save life at extreme risk to self.

Honor Medal
Awarded to a youth member or adult leader who has demonstrated unusual heroism and skill in saving or attempting to save life at considerable risk to self.

Heroism Award

Awarded to a youth member or adult leader who has demonstrated heroism and skill in saving or attempting to save life at minimal personal risk.


Meritorious Action Awards 

Click here for a nomination form.


Medal of Merit

Awarded to a youth member or adult leader who has performed an act of service of a rare or exceptional character that reflects an uncommon degree of concern for the well-being of others.


National Certificate of Merit

Awarded to a youth member or adult leader who has performed a significant act of service that is deserving of special national recognition.

Note: If the action is deserving of merit but does not qualify for a national award, the Scout may be eligible for the Local Council Certificate of Merit, No. 33732

Spirit of the Eagle Recognition
The Boy Scouts of America has created the Spirit of the Eagle Award as an honorary posthumous special recognition for a registered youth member who has lost his or her life in a tragic accident or through illness. This award is bestowed by the National Court of Honor as part of the celebration of life and this young person. The award recognizes the joy, happiness, and life-fulfilling experiences that the Scouting program made in this person's life. For more information on this recognition, contact the Hudson Valley Council office. For a form, click here.

Distinguished Eagle Scout Award
The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award is the highest warded presented by the National Eagle Scout Association to those who have been Eagle Scouts for 25 or more years and who have distinguished themselves in their career or public life. Service to Scouting is not necessarily an important criterion in the determination of worthiness or degree of distinction of a potential recipient. Click here for a nomination form.

Unit Leader Award of Merit
Quality unit leadership is the key to a quality unit program—and it leads to better Scout retention. Statistics show that if young people stay engaged in the program for at least five years, the BSA’s influence likely will stay with them for the rest of their lives. A quality Scouting experience will help keep Scouts in the program, and the Boy Scouts of America created the Unit Leader Award of Merit to recognize the quality unit leaders who make that happen.  The Unit Leader Award of Merit replaces the Scoutmaster, Varsity Team Coach, and Venturing Crew Advisor award of merit programs. This new recognition has revised requirements and may be earned by Cubmasters as well. Click here for a form.

Venturing Leadership Award
The Venturing Leadership Award is presented by councils, areas, regions, and the BSA National Council to Venturer youth leaders who have made exceptional contributions to Venturing and who exemplify the Venturing Code and Venturing Oath.

William H. Spurgeon Award
The William H. Spurgeon III Award is the highest recognition for individuals and organizations contributing significant leadership to the Exploring program. The award is designed for council use to recognize individuals or organizations contributing significant leadership to the Exploring program. The award is also presented regionally and nationally.


 Community Organization Award
The Community Organization  Award acknowledges that a adult volunteer has been recognized by another organization for service to Scouting; Non-Scouting organizations have recognition programs approved for this award. Details can be found at this Link. Examples of those organizations include Elks, Masons, VFW, and the American Legion. There are 14 in all. Once a volunteer has been recognized with one of the 14 approved awards just take documentation of having received that award such as a certificate, letter, medal, etc., to a Scout shop to purchase the square knot.